Interested in cosmetic plastic surgery procedures? Visit our sister site:


  • Undergraduate:
    - University College London
  • Medical School:
    - University College London
  • Residency:
    - General Surgery Resident, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, San Antonio, TX (July 1998 – June 2001).
  • Fellowship:
    - Hand And Microsurgery Fellow, The Indiana Hand Center, Indianapolis, In (July 2003 – July 2004). Plastic Surgery Fellow, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI (July 2001 – June 2003). Burn (Research) Fellow, Shriners Burns Institute for Children, Galveston, TX (August 1997 – June 199

Insurance Accepted

The Institute for Advanced Reconstruction participates in a wide range of insurance plans, including Blue Cross Blue Shield, Cigna, Horizon NJ Health, Qualcare, and Medicare. Each physician has their accepted insurance and hospital affiliations. For those out of network, our insurance specialists will work with you before your appointment to find the most coverage available for your treatment. We can often develop individual agreements with your insurance carrier for your personalized treatment plan.


Minas Chrysopoulo, MD

Dr. C is a board certified plastic surgeon, breast reconstruction surgeon and microsurgeon. He moved to San Antonio, Texas to join the PRMA Plastic Surgery team in 2006. Dr Chrysopoulo was elected President of PRMA in January 2017.

Dr C was raised and educated in London, England. His academic achievements earned him admission to University College London Medical School where he received several prestigious awards including the Anatomy Departmental Award for academic excellence, the Amulree Elective Award for high academic placement, the Goldsmid Scholarship and Exhibition for overall academic proficiency, and the Eric Pearce Gould Bursary for overall clinical proficiency. Based on his academic achievements Dr C was invited to undertake an Intercalated Bachelor of Science degree between his second and third years of medical school, which he completed in Advanced Anatomy and Morphology.

In 1997, Dr C moved from London to Texas. He continued his training in general surgery at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio, Texas prior to his fellowship in plastic and reconstructive surgery at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. During his training, he won the prestigious D. Ralph Millard, MD Investigator Award, Plastic Surgery Education Foundation (PSEF) Scholarship Contest (1998). He has also completed fellowships in burn research at Shriner's Burn Hospital for Children in Galveston, and hand surgery and microsurgery at the Indiana Hand Center and Indiana University.

On joining PRMA, Dr. C focused his efforts on expanding PRMA’s footprint beyond Texas to provide access to state-of-the-art breast reconstruction to women across the US and beyond. PRMA now welcomes patients from across the World.

Dr. C is certified by the American Board of Plastic Surgery, and is also an active member in the American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS), the American Society for Reconstructive Microsurgery (ASRM), the Plastic Surgery Education Foundation (PSEF), the Texas Society of Plastic Surgeons (TSPS), and the San Antonio International Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (SAIPS).

He has authored and co-authored several book chapters and scientific articles in peer-reviewed journals, has been an expert speaker at regional, national and international academic meetings, and serves on several ASPS breast reconstruction committees. He is routinely featured in the media for his contributions to the field of breast reconstruction and has been the featured "expert guest" on various shows. 

Dr. C has received several professional awards including "America's Top Surgeons”, The San Antonio Business Journal's "Top 40 Under Forty" (2007), and multiple Doctors' Choice Awards for Plastic Surgery. The entire PRMA team was also honored to win the San Antonio Business Journal's "Health Care Heroes Award"  for innovation in medical technology, procedures, programs and services.

Dr. C’s areas of special interest include state-of-the-art breast reconstruction, nipple-sparing mastectomy, techniques to maximize aesthetic outcomes, restoring sensation after mastectomy, cosmetic surgery of the breast and body, and scar healing.

Dr. C has dedicated his professional life to advocating for breast cancer patients. He strongly believes that shared decision making between the physician and patient is crucial in achieving the best outcomes and has built his practice on this philosophy. To empower as many patients as possible to advocate for themselves Dr C created the Breast Advocate® App, a free app that provides anyone with a breast cancer diagnosis, or at risk of developing breast cancer, a much needed voice in their breast cancer surgery decision making.

He is also the Founder of Toliman Health, a digital health company committed to improving patient experience, outcomes, and satisfaction via empowering shared decision-making mobile technology.

Dr. C is also the Founder of C&H Scientific, makers of InviCible Skincare. 

Dr. C very much looks forward to caring for you and helping you through this time.

Patient Testimonials

Awards & Accolades

    San Antonio Business Journal's "Health Care Heroes" Award For Best Non-hospital Physician, 2019 Doctors' Choice Award, Best Plastic Surgeon In San Antonio, 2014 - 2019 San Antonio Business Journal's "Health Care Heroes" Award For Innovation In Medical Technology, Procedures, Programs And Services , 2013. Named One Of "America's Top Surgeons", 2009. San Antonio Business Journal's "Top 40 Under Forty" Award, 2007. Strathmore’s Who’s Who Honors. Inclusion Limited To Individuals Who Have Demonstrated Leadership And Achievement In Their Occupation, Industry Or Profession. Intern Of The Year, General Surgery 1998-1999, University Of Texas Health Science Center At San Antonio. First Place Winner Of The D. Ralph Millard, Md Investigator Award, Plastic Surgery Education Foundations (Psef) Scholarship Contest (1998). The Amulree Elective Award (1995) As Recognition Of High Placement In Final Medical School Exams. The Goldsmid Scholarship And Exhibition (1995) For Overall Academic Proficiency Over The Scholastic Year. The Eric Pearce Gould Bursary (1995) For Overall Clinical Proficiency. The Anatomy Departmental Award (1992) For Academic Excellence In Anatomy.

Office Locations

San Antonio
San Antonio
9635 Huebner Rd.
San Antonio, Texas 78240
Phone: 210-692-1181
San Antonio
San Antonio
502 Madison Oak Dr.
Suite 220
San Antonio, Texas 78258
Phone: 210-558-7012